Thanks to all of those who made our 2010 event such a great success. We also have photos and a short video of our 2010 Awards event posted. Click here to view our 2010 Unsung Heroes photos and here to watch a four minute video featuring highlights from the inaugural ceremony.




The Campaign for Public Health Foundation’s


     Thursday, November 18, 2010



Our 2010 Award Winners:

Ms. Janet Zola, MPH, a 30-year veteran of disease control and prevention work, is the 2010 winner of our Rock in the Pond Award. Her cutting-edge prevention efforts with at-risk and minority populations have been applauded as a model program by federal agencies. Her work helped to prevent and control hepatitis B infections in the San Francisco area and is now having an impact nationally. Several communities across the nation have turned to Ms. Zola to help establish similar programs. The majority of her career has been spent working for the San Francisco Department of Public Health where she currently serves as a health promotion specialist in Communicable Disease Control and Prevention. Ms. Zola's career highlights only solidify her as an Unsung Hero of Public Health: Initially an instructor in family planning at San Francisco State University, Ms. Zola later worked educating seniors about medication and eventually established the San Francisco Immunization Coalition. These experiences all helped her recognize a need to educate high-risk men and Asian Pacific Islanders about the importance of hepatitis testing and vaccinations. Ms. Zola's 30-year, service-focused career, the "San Francisco Hep B Free" program and her passion for improving the health of the population are worthy of national recognition. We are honored to help draw attention to a great career and a most deserving unsung hero of public health.

The winner of our 2010 Wavemaker Award is epidemiologist Dr. Cecilia Rosales. Dr. Rosales has worked in the field of public health for 20 years. Some of her professional experiences include serving as a doctor, as chief of the Arizona Department of Health Services' Office of Border Health, and as a university professor. She has worked binationally to track infectious disease; assess, control and prevent diabetes; study the challenges to farm worker health; and coordinate the treatment of patients with tuberculosis who migrate between Mexico and the United States. Dr. Rosales is also a co-principal investigator in researching ways to counter chronic diseases in the region. Her passion for border and binational disease control and prevention led to her nomination. Her work has significantly improved the health and quality of life among border populations in both the Southwestern United States and in Mexico. With this award we commend Dr. Rosales for her collaborative and persistent disease control and prevention efforts.

2010 Selection Committee

And finally, we are extremely grateful for the work of our volunteer review panel:

Debbie I. Chang, MPH, Vice President of Policy and Prevention, Nemours

Isabelle Claxton, Director of Public Policy and Advocacy, GlaxoSmithKline

Steven K. Galson, MD, MPH

Karen Goraleski, Executive Director, American Society of Tropical Medicine& Hygiene

Jeffrey Levi, PhD, Executive Director, Trust for America's Health

Judith A. Monroe, MD, Director, Office for State, Tribal, Local and Territorial Support (proposed), Deputy Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention

Barbara K. Rimer, DrPH, Dean and Alumni Distinguished Professor, UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health

Harrison C. Spencer, MD, MPH, President and CEO, Assoc. of Schools of Public Health

The CPH Foundation Thanks Our 2010 Event Sponsor:

This activity is supported by an education donation provided by


If you would like to discuss event sponsorship opportunities, contact The CPH Foundation's Executive Director, Karl Moeller, at (202) 898-0435 or email


For Updated Information on the Campaign for Public Health Foundation Subscribe to Our RSS Feed