Welcome to the 5th Annual

Unsung Heroes of Public Health Awards


Friends in Public Health:

Click here to read the press release anncouding our 2014 Winners!

Help us applaud our 2014 winners at a Capitol Hill reception on January 27th. Our 5th annual event will be held in the Gold Room of the Rayburn House office Building (room 2168) starting at 4:30.

RSVP to this free event here!

For a fifth consecutive year, The CPH Foundation is reaching out to those working in public health to find, highlight, and applaud the best and brightest in the disease control and prevention arena.

Too often, public health is relegated to the back bench. While lifesaving work, science, and research is put into action 24-7 by our nation's public health leaders, most Americans don't realize the all the important work done by everyday Americans to keep us safe from disease, injury, infection, and more. These awards are meant to highlight this work and to bring their service to light here in Washington, DC.

In each of the past 4 years, the CPH Foundation has flown our winners to the Nation's Capitol to commended and applauded their efforts at a congressional reception. We introduced our winners to legislators and policy leaders during a day of meetings so their work can be better understood. We cannot wait to meet our 2014 heroes!

The stories our Unsung Heroes tell serve as examples of the type of work being done every day at the local, state, and international level by public health leaders across the nation.

Please let us take a moment to thank AbbVie, our 2014 Unsung Heroes of Public Health Awards sponsor - and the the Heroes Award sponsor for the second year in a row. AbbVie's support continues to make our recognition of these tremendous public health heroes possible.


More About Our Three Awards:

The CPH Foundation's Rock in the Pond Award recognizes an individual for outstanding work on a community-based or state-wide public health effort that produced significant positive health outcomes. Those nominating a colleague for this award should be sure to highlight the positive outcomes the program or idea produced.

Our Wavemaker Award also recognizes a visionary whose work on a large-scale multi-state, regional, national or international public health program has successfully impacted a major public health challenge. Here too, CPHF is eager to hear of the outcomes that resulted from the program.

And finally, our Excellence in Media Award recognizes an individual who produced a widely-viewed media story (or stories) focused on a critical disease control and prevention issue. The awardees’ work should cover a significant public health topic and convey the issue to a broad audience in an easily understood manner. Eligible types of media include, but are not limited to: newspaper stories, television news reports, radio reports, widely followed blog postings, and documentaries. Past winners of this award include writers from the LA Times and USA Today, as well as a journalist working locally on a web-based newspaper to educate community leaders about a local epidemic. 

Feel free to call our office with any questions!

Meet Past Winners & Learn More: Our first 4 years

To learn more about past events and see who has won in prior years, visit last year's awards website here, or see a videos from prior awards ceremonies on our YouTube page. More detailed information is available in the 2013 press release.

You can also see bios of all our (pre-2013) winners here.

Visit our 2012 Unsung Heroes Awards web page. Our 2012 event was supported by grants from GlaxoSmithKline and Kaiser Permanente. See videos of the event, and listen to the acceptance speeches from our 2012 winners on our YouTube page

Visit our 2011Unsung Heroes Awards web page here. Our 2011 event was supported by a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation. Photos from both the 2010 and 2011 awards events can be found here.

Visit our 2010 awards page and learn about our 2010 winners here. Our 2010 event was sponsored in part by AMGEN. A short video with highlights from the inaugural awards ceremony is posted here.